Kitchen gadgets worth the investment

Trekking all the way to the end of the hall, pot in one hand, ingredients in another, to make a simple grilled cheese became an arduous task. I had seen other people on my floor with spaceship looking panini makers, but always thought wow what a waste of money. I finally caved and bought one, specifically the Cuisinart Griddler at Bed Bath & Beyond for $99.99 (with a 20% off coupon, of course). The griddler can be used to cook almost anything. Paninis, waffles, pancakes, chicken, eggs and the list goes on… This heaven-sent appliance has removable plates, which makes it a breeze to wash!

“This really is the greatest invention ever,” said Alex Smith, resident of UF’s Broward Hall. “I use it to cook almost everything.”

img_5370              img_5369

The list would not be complete without something for caffeine lovers, or hot drink lovers. According to the National Coffee Association (NCA), 59% of Americans drink a daily cup of coffee. As a die-hard Starbucks fanatic, my bank account began crying weeks into my first fall semester. That’s when I knew I had to ask for some sort of coffee appliance thingy for Christmas. My Keurig Mini kept me alive through early mornings, late nights and everything in between. For $99.99, they are available at Bed Bath & Beyond (with that 20% off coupon, let’s not forget).

“Having a Keurig has saved me so much money I’d probably be spending at Starbucks, or really anywhere that serves coffee,” said Christina Vala, resident of UF’s Jennings Hall.

img_5366

Lastly, there is the Nutri Ninja available for, once again, $99.99 at Bed Bath & Beyond. Luckily, my freshman roommate picked up this one. I recommend talking to your roommate to see who can buy what to spilt up costs. The Ninja can blend anything from green smoothies to piña coladas (I prefer the latter). Frozen fruit is usually cheaper than fresh fruit too! Throw together a smoothie and you have the perfect on-the-go meal.

img_5371

Leave a Reply

